The source – about.fb.com
The option had been in the works for 10 years and was popular, but increasing complaints from users about the collection and storage of biometric data forced Meta, a recent Facebook company, to stop using it.
Patterns of more than a billion users who have consented to use the technology will be deleted. And once the feature is disabled, users will no longer receive alerts when photos or videos of them are flagged.
This change will also affect Automatic Alt Text (AAT), which automatically generates image descriptions for people with visual impairments. Accordingly, the descriptions generated by the ATT will no longer include the names of the people recognized in the photo.